Posts Tagged ‘cedar fort publishing’

Springett Hall is haunted?

Wednesday, February 10th, 2016

What is the most difficult thing about being an author?

I think the hardest thing about being an author is finding the balance between considering your audience and not worrying too much about what people think. We write to share these ideas bouncing around in our heads—to get them out there on paper—so even though we’re telling stories that are important to us, we have an audience in mind. There’s nothing more exciting than getting a story into the hands of that audience and hearing good feedback about it, but there are going to be people who don’t love a story or don’t get it—people it just doesn’t speak to. That can be painful, but you can’t try to please everyone, and you can’t let it stop you from writing.

ebwheelerjpeg

Who has made the greatest difference for you as a writer?

I’m really grateful that I had parents who read to me as a child, teachers who encouraged me and taught me to write well, and a husband who supports my goals, but I can honestly say that my critique groups—the Cache Valley chapter of the League of Utah Writers and UPSSEFW—have probably made the biggest difference in my writing. They’ve given me the encouragement and the tough love I needed to push myself to get better and get published.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I wrote this book on a dare from my husband. We were talking about the various paranormal love stories out there—vampires, werewolves, zombies—and I said it was unfair that ghosts don’t get love stories. He said he didn’t think anyone could write a ghost love story that didn’t end badly. I wanted a break from the more serious manuscript I’d been working on, so I said, “Challenge accepted.”

What is the name of your new book? Tell us more about it.

My novel is The Haunting of Springett Hall.

TheHauntingofSpringettHallCoverSmall

It’s a YA Victorian mystery about Lucy, a ghost who doesn’t remember how she died or much about her life before. She only knows that she died trying to do something important, and that someone is still trying to stop her from completing her task. She has to solve her own murder, fix the mistakes of her past, and stop a necromancer to protect the rest of the people in the house. She has help from Philip, the only living person who can see her, but he’s also suffering from amnesia and may have been her enemy when she was alive.

What genre does your book fall under?

YA mystery or paranormal romance—it has some aspects of both.

What other books would you compared to?

I think readers who like Jonathan Stroud’s Lockwood & Co. series about teenage ghost hunters in London would enjoy this book, as well as anyone who likes mystery, romance, magic, and a bit of spookiness.

What kind of impact do you expect your works to have in the reader’s lives?

I hope readers finish the book feeling like they just had a fun adventure in Victorian England. They may also come away with some thinking points about what love means and our responsibilities for the choices we make.

Is your book self-published or represented by an agency?

The Haunting of Springett Hall is published by Sweetwater Books, an imprint of Cedar Fort Publishing.

Where can we find your book?

My book is available in store at Barnes and Noble and Seagull books, as well as online at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Books and Things:

http://www.amazon.com/Haunting-Springett-Hall-E-B-Wheeler/dp/1462116728/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1428092592&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Haunting+of+Springett+Hall

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-haunting-of-springett-hall-eb-wheeler/1121030433?ean=9781462116720

http://booksandthings.com/The-Haunting-of-Springett-Hall-Paperback.html

A bounty hunter is pursuing her, why?

Wednesday, February 18th, 2015

Anna, thanks for your willingness to highlight Willow Springs. I love your blog, especially the great variety of authors you feature.

Willow Springs FULL SIZE

Back cover –

     Husbands. Crissa had to suppress a shudder at the thought. If I had wanted  a husband, I would have stayed in Boston. Indeed, Crissa considered Willow Springs to be the nearest thing to her idea of purgatory. She certainly did not plan to stay here long.

Swedish immigrant Crissa Engleson fled Boston hoping to start a new life, unknown and unencumbered, on the American frontier. The quiet gold mining town of Willow Springs in the Utah desert seemed the perfect spot—until (more…)

Carolyn Steele new books “Willow Springs” is having a blog tour.

Sunday, August 17th, 2014
Carolyn, tell us where you were born?
CarolynSteele_Photo
Salt Lake City, Utah
What is the most difficult thing about being an author?
Being patient while finding a publisher.
Who has made the greatest difference for you as a writer?

(more…)

Sara Fitzgerald author of Saving Savanna

Friday, November 2nd, 2012

This week we have author, Sara Fitzgerald visiting our blog. Hi Sara.

Tell us how long have you been writing and why did you started?

I have been writing since I was a child.  I was extremely shy, writing gave me a way to express myself. 

Tell us, what your day is like?

My days are busy.  I have a six-year-old daughter who takes up most of my time.  I also have a striving (more…)