Posts Tagged ‘Victoria’

Does a pattern of five knife wounds provide a clue?

Saturday, July 14th, 2018
Five
Knives
A
Will Finch Mystery Thriller Prequel
by
D.F. Bailey
Genre:
Crime Thriller
 
One
Reporter.

 

Three Dead.

 

Five Knives.

 

 

FIVE
KNIVES welds the intensity of Jack Bauer’s “24” to the
scorching heat of THE GIRL WHO KICKED THE HORNET’S NEST.

 

 

“The
author is a great talent.” — Aaron C. Brown, Amazon Top 1000
Reviewer

 

 

When
a man plummets to his death from an apartment tower, Will Finch’s
shock soon becomes a nightmare. As he studies the open windows above
the corpse, Finch notices a lamp blinking erratically behind a drawn
curtain on the eleventh floor.

 

 

When
he investigates the distress signal, Finch discovers a woman
handcuffed to a bedpost. Over the following week, he uncovers a
conspiracy that ties the murder to a series of bombshells. The
victim’s bankruptcy. A global stock fraud. A murder spree that
began in Baghdad and is now haunting the citizens of San Francisco.
Is this the work of a serial killer, a copycat — or both?

 

 

But
before he can file his report for The San Francisco Post, Finch’s
leads evaporate. Within days, three victims are dead. Does a pattern
of five knife wounds provide a clue? Can he unravel the mystery
before he — and his fiancée — are caught up in the web of
murder?

 

 

Five
Knives is the prequel thriller in the Will Finch crime series — a
novel that opens on the first day of Will Finch’s journalism
career. Everything that Finch learns about crime reporting begins
with Five Knives.

 

Goodreads
* Amazon
 
 
An
Amazon bestselling author, D.F. Bailey is a W.H. Smith First Novel
Award and a Whistler Independent Book Award finalist.

 

 

In
2015 D.F. Bailey published The Finch Trilogy — Bone Maker, Stone
Eater, and Lone Hunter — three novels narrated from the
point-of-view of a crime reporter in San Francisco. Second Life
(2017) is the first in a series of stand-alone books that follows the
characters established in the trilogy. The series prequel, Five
Knives, came out in 2018.

 

 

His
first novel, Fire Eyes, was optioned for film. His second novel,
Healing the Dead, was translated into German as Todliche Ahnungen.
The Good Lie, another psychological thriller, was recorded as an
audiobook. A fourth novel, Exit from America, made its debut as an
e-book in 2013.

 

 

Following
his birth in Montreal, D.F. Bailey’s family moved around North
America from rural Ontario to New York City to McComb, Mississippi to
Cape May, New Jersey. He finally “landed on his feet” on
Vancouver Island — where he lives next to the Salish Sea in the
city of Victoria.

 

 

For
twenty-two years D.F. Bailey worked at the University of Victoria
where he taught creative writing and journalism and coordinated the
Professional Writing Cooperative Education Program — which he
co-founded. From time to time he also freelanced as a business writer
and journalist. In the fall of 2010 he left the university so that he
could turn “his pre-occupation with writing into a full-blown
obsession.”

 

Website
* Facebook
* Twitter * Amazon
* Goodreads
 
 
Follow
the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 

Milijun is the first installment of an action-packed sci-fi alien invasion story

Sunday, June 3rd, 2018
Milijun
by
Clayton Graham
Genre:
Science Fiction
 
The
next phase of human evolution depends entirely on her…

 

 

Laura
is willing to do whatever it takes for her son. When aliens kidnap
Jason, it’s going to take a lot more than a mother’s love to get him
back. After infiltrating a military research base, Laura discovers 
a
terrifying secret
: their
plans to impregnate women with alien DNA.

 

 

Laura
battles to save Jason, the mothers-to-be, and herself. But she
quickly realizes the aliens have their own mission for her, too. Soon
she faces a choice, take a chance at an impossible escape
or accept the aliens’ vision of a new humanity.

 

 

Milijun
is the first installment of 
an
action-packed
 sci-fi
alien invasion story. If you like tales of first contact, secret
military operations, and the people caught in the middle, then you’ll
love Clayton Graham’s fast-paced sci-fi thrill ride.

 

 

Buy
Milijun to discover the future of evolution.

 

 

“Captured
my interest from the very beginning, and never once let go.”
Jenna – Indie Book Reviewers

 

 

 

“If you love the genre,
read this gem.” Julius Zon – Self Publishing Review

 

 

“This
is a must-read for science fiction fans who appreciate a hard
scientific foundation, in the tradition of Asimov, Niven, or
Heinlein.” Patrick Dent

 

 

“Million?
5 stars are all Amazon permit!” Sarah Stuart

 

Add
to Goodreads
Amazon
* Apple
* B&N
* Kobo
 
 
 
 
As
a youngster growing up in the cobbled streets of Stockport, UK,
Clayton Graham read a lot of Science Fiction. He loved the ‘old
school’ masters such as HG Wells, Jules Verne, Isaac Asimov and
John Wyndham. As he left those formative years behind, he penned
short stories when he could find a rare quiet moment amidst life’s
usual distractions. 

 

 

He
settled in Victoria, Australia, in 1982. A retired aerospace engineer
who worked in structural design and research, Clayton has always had
an interest in Science Fiction and where it places humankind within a
universe we are only just starting to understand.

 

 

Clayton
loves animals, including well behaved pets, and all the natural
world, and is a member of Australian Geographic.

 

 

Combining
future science with the paranormal is his passion. Milijun is his
first novel. Second novel, Saving Paludis, will be published early
2018. They are light years from each other, but share the future
adventures of mankind in an expansive universe as a common theme.

 

Website
* Facebook
* Twitter * Amazon
* Goodreads
 
 
Follow
the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 

The Revenge of Thelma Hill, Halloween chills and thrills by Margot Finke

Thursday, October 16th, 2014

Margot, is so nice to meet you. How long have you been writing?

ME small

I have been writing forever—yet only with an eye to publication for about 20 years.
Tell us where you were born and where you live now.

I was born in Bendigo (a gold mining town) in Victoria, Australia, but I grew up in the tropics of Queensland. I married an American, and we came to live in Oregon USA with our three kids, many years ago.

Wow. How do you know the idea is good enough to write a book about it?

If an idea come to me in the dark (more…)