Posts Tagged ‘YA Historical Fiction’

Bethany Swafford dazzles with her stunning young adult debut, introducing a strong heroine, the hardships of frontier life, shocking twists, and a slow-burning romance

Monday, November 12th, 2018

 

For fans of A Knight of Silence and Read My Lips comes a YA historical western full of grit and heart…
 

In 1874, Ivy Steele’s deafness is more than a handicap. It’s a disease. Surrounded by a family that doesn’t understand her, she’s learned to cope and find solace where she can. Then, the unexpected happens. Her aunt dies, and her uncle sends her away to rejoin her father’s family in Montana.Left to fend for herself, after the companion hired to escort her abandons her, sixteen-year-old Ivy faces continual hardship and danger. Several men see an unaccompanied Ivy as a flower ripe for the picking, and things only get worse when masked men hold up their stagecoach.

Barely scraping through, Ivy makes it to Montana with her nerves shaken and what little money she has in her boot. Expecting a peaceful if not affectionate welcome, Ivy finds herself in greater hardship than she’s ever known.

Surrounded by a stepfamily that hates her, and flung into a life where hearing is vital, Ivy finds solace in a handsome cowboy named Remy. But things with her new family are not what they seem. And Ivy is about to find out that the danger she faced on the journey west, has followed her to Montana…

Bethany Swafford dazzles with her stunning young adult debut, introducing a strong heroine, the hardships of frontier life, shocking twists, and a slow-burning romance that will leave you wanting more.

Third place winner of the 2018 Rosemary Award

 

 

 
 

 

For as long as she can remember, Bethany Swafford has loved reading books. That love of words extended to writing as she grew older and when it became more difficult to find a ‘clean’ book, she determined to write her own. Among her favorite authors is Jane Austen, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Georgette Heyer.
 
When she doesn’t have pen to paper (or fingertips to laptop keyboard), she can generally be found with a book in hand. In her spare time, Bethany reviews books for a book site called More Than A Review.

~ Facebook ~ Goodreads ~
~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~

Top Ten List

Top Ten Favorite Reads of 2018

 

 

  1. Promises and Primroses by Josi S. Kilpack
  2. My Sister’s Intended by Rachel Anderson
  3. The Weaver’s Daughter by Sarah E. Ladd
  4. Loving Lieutenant Lancaster by Sarah M. Eden
  5. Murder of Half Moon Gate by Andrea Penrose
  6. A Dangerous Debut by Wendy May Andrews
  7. Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
  8. Duels and Deception by Cindy Anstey
  9. A Lady’s Guide to Etiquette and Murder by Dianne Freeman
  • Murder at Ochre Court by Alyssa Maxwell

 

 

To view our blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our Official Event page 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

As libraries burned, she dared defend the light of knowledge

Monday, November 27th, 2017
Hypatia
of Alexandria
The
Legendary Women of World History #8
by
Laurel A. Rockefeller
Genre:
YA Historical Fiction
 
Teacher.
Philosopher. Astronomer.
Born
in 355 CE. In the aftermath of Constantine’s reign Hypatia of
Alexandria lived in a collapsing Rome Empire, a world where obedience
to religious authorities trumped science, where reason and logic
threatened the new world order. It was a world on the edge of the
Dark Ages. As libraries burned, she dared defend the light of
knowledge.
**Only
.99 cents!!**
Add
to Goodreads
Amazon
* Apple
* B&N
* Kobo
* Smashwords
 
 
 
 
Born,
raised, and educated in Lincoln, Nebraska USA Laurel A. Rockefeller
is author of over twenty books published and self-published since
August, 2012 and in languages ranging from Welsh to Spanish to
Chinese and everything in between. A dedicated scholar and
biographical historian, Ms. Rockefeller is passionate about education
and improving history literacy worldwide. 

 

 


With
her lyrical writing style, Laurel’s books are as beautiful to read as
they are informative.


 

In
her spare time, Laurel enjoys spending time with her cockatiels,
attending living history activities, travelling to historic places in
both the United States and United Kingdom, and watching classic
motion pictures and classic television series.

 

Website
* Facebook
* Twitter * Pinterest
* YouTube
* Amazon
* Goodreads
 
 
Follow
the tour HERE
for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
 
 

<b